SUN TZU GAMES
  • Rogue Angels
    • Components
    • Online Play
    • Rules
    • Media & Reviews
    • Designer Journal
    • Rogue Angels - Holodeck
    • Fan site - MyRogueAngels
    • Discord
    • BoardGameGeek
    • Facebook Group
    • Kickstarter
    • Gamefound
  • Burning Suns
    • Buy Burning Suns
    • About
    • Components
    • Print and Play
    • Online Play
    • Rules and FAQs
    • Galaxies
    • Discord
    • Wikia
    • The Art of Burning Suns
    • BoardGameGeek
    • Facebook Group
    • Kickstarter
  • Burning Rome
    • Buy Burning Rome
    • About
    • Components
    • Print and Play (BR)
    • Print and Play (BU)
    • Online Play
    • Rules and FAQs
    • Play Styles and Decks
    • Customized Play
    • Discord
    • BoardGameGeek
    • Facebook Group
    • Kickstarter
  • Novels
    • Conflagration
    • Snapshots
    • Discord
    • Facebook Page
    • Wikia
  • Discord
  • Kickstarter Kit
  • Contact

Rules and FAQs for Burning Suns

Current version of the Burning Suns rulebook: version 1.00
Rulebook can be downloaded here

​
In the sections below you can find all current FAQs for Burning Suns.

Setup

  • (Q): Is it possible to play a 6, 7 or 8-player game? 
  • (A): If you get more figures/components for the game, then yes. I believe the downtime is a bit too long, which is why I haven't advertised the game as a 6-player game, but it's doable no doubt. 

1: Status Phase

Antimatter
  • (Q): Does an empire gain antimatter every turn from systems, items, agents etc.?
  • (A): No, unless the source specifically says so, the antimatter is gained/lost as the empire gains/losses control of its source.

2: Reshuffling Phase

None

3: Planning Phase

  • (Q): When selecting an action, may I place my leader on any of the available spots for that action?
  • (A): You can choose any of the available spots, doesn't have to be in any given order. You might want to be reactionary on some actions and going first on others.

4: Action Phase

Assault
  • (Q): Can I assault systems I already control?
  • (A): No
  • (Q): Does an assault continue after the first round? 
  • (A): Yes, just like in a battle, it'll continue until either you or your enemy's army is destroyed.
Barrage
  • (Q): Do the enemy shoot back? 
  • (A): No, a barrage is all or your fleet/army shooting 1 time at your enemy. There are no rounds or shooting back.
Colonize
  • (Q): Is the regiment you place on the system after the colonization free?
  • (A): Yes, it's one you get for free (no matter the colonization cost).
Construct
  • (Q): Can I construct in a system where there's an opposing enemy fleet?
  • (A): Yes (only the Imperial ability, level 3 can deny this).
Diplomacy
  • (Q): Is the regiment you place on the system after the diplomacy free?
  • (A): Yes.
Jump
  • (Q): Can I jump back and forth between two systems to drop off or pick up units?
  • (A): Yes.
Mission
  • (Q): If my leader roll is successful and I choose another action with a leader roll, do I have to roll for success again? 
  • (A): Yes, and boosts aren't carried over to the next action. 
- - -
​​Timing
  • (Q): What if an action gives me antimatter to reach an abilities that would then be triggered as an "after action"-ability?
  • (A): Antimatter is gained after the action has ended, so no "after action" can be triggered and utilized as a result of the action. 

Abilities

Placing a new system (e.g. Deep Space Telescope)
  • (Q): Can I choose the system myself? 
  • (A): Unless the ability says otherwise, you pick a random system (e.g. taken from the bottom of the 1-4 pile of systems).
Powers
  • (Q): Which icon symbolizes which power? 
  • (A): See power below icons.
Picture
Light power
Picture
Neutral power
Picture
Dark power

Alliances

  • (Q): Do I need my diplomacy distance to reach the player's home system or any of their systems?
  • (A): Any system the player controls will suffice. 
  • (Q): If a diplomacy action is successful, are you forced to ally the player?
  • (A): No. The alliances are still a negotiation between players. 

Artifacts

Dark Energy Scanner
  • (Q): Do I reshuffle the artifact pile after taking out the artifact(s)? 
  • (A): No
Dark Fleet Beacon
  • (Q): If I deploy Dark Ships in a system with 2 or more fleets who do they fight? 
  • (A): The largest fleet first (when tie, the player using the card decides). 

Dark Ships & Militia Regiments

Dark Ships
  • (Q): Do Dark Ships get the strike bonus when starting a battle against my fleet when I jump in?
  • (A): Yes.

Items

Upgrade: +1 to damage to target
  • (Q): Can the opponent assign hits of +1 damage to single hitpoint units like regular units? 
  • (A): Yes. The opponent can assign hits as they see fit, however the hits coming from units with this update will deal 2 damage, so once the unique units are hit, they will go down fast. 

Race cards

Insectoids - Infestation
  • (Q): What happens if the opposing player wants to play a race card that affects their Titan (that you've just infested)?
  • (A): For the rest of this action, the Titan is counted as yours, so they may play a card affecting an enemy Titan (not their own). 
- - -
Timing
  • (Q): What if both empires want to play a race card for an action. 
  • (A): In cases where more than one empire might be able to use a triggered ability, it’s always the empire who initiated the action that goes first (e.g. attacker) then the other empire (e.g. defender).

Systems

Hostile systems
  • (Q): Am I stuck with my choice of benefit when gaining control of a hostile system?
  • (A): Yes. Until you loss and regain control of the system. 
- - -
Montford's Gambit
  • (Q): Can I use the ability on my own system, what happens when doing it on an enemy's system? 
  • (A): If using the ability on your own system, you just bolster your forces. If you use it on an enemy system, you also start an assault action. 

Units

Colossus
  • (Q): Can I move my colossus?
  • (A): Yes, just like with your regiments, you can move your colossus between your own systems.
Raiders
  • (Q): Can a raider's reroll be used by other ships in your fleet?
  • (A): Yes.
Regiments 
  • (Q): Do regiments travel with the fleet?
  • (A): No, regiments are handled separately from the fleet, as an army. The same jump limitations apply to armies, and they can only jump to (end up in) systems you control. ​
  • (Q): Are regiments constructed when I assault a system? 
  • (A): No, regiments are deployed for free during assaults (1 per battlecruiser/2 per Titan).
Starbase
  • (Q): Can a starbase jump? 
  • (A): No (only the Nomadic ability level 2 can move its starbase, and some card abilities allow it).
  • (Q) Can other empires use my Starbase to jump to and from wormholes? 
  • (A): No.
​

If you have an unanswered question - please don't hesitate to contact me!

ROGUE ANGELS ON Gamefound

Picture
All rights reserved - SunTzuGames | My why | Terms & Conditions | Disclaimer | 2025
  • Rogue Angels
    • Components
    • Online Play
    • Rules
    • Media & Reviews
    • Designer Journal
    • Rogue Angels - Holodeck
    • Fan site - MyRogueAngels
    • Discord
    • BoardGameGeek
    • Facebook Group
    • Kickstarter
    • Gamefound
  • Burning Suns
    • Buy Burning Suns
    • About
    • Components
    • Print and Play
    • Online Play
    • Rules and FAQs
    • Galaxies
    • Discord
    • Wikia
    • The Art of Burning Suns
    • BoardGameGeek
    • Facebook Group
    • Kickstarter
  • Burning Rome
    • Buy Burning Rome
    • About
    • Components
    • Print and Play (BR)
    • Print and Play (BU)
    • Online Play
    • Rules and FAQs
    • Play Styles and Decks
    • Customized Play
    • Discord
    • BoardGameGeek
    • Facebook Group
    • Kickstarter
  • Novels
    • Conflagration
    • Snapshots
    • Discord
    • Facebook Page
    • Wikia
  • Discord
  • Kickstarter Kit
  • Contact